Spring Clean-Up

True, this hasn’t been the sweetest of springs, but when the warm and sunny weather has visited us, one matter has been clear; people are anxious to get out onto their property, some to join the rites of spring cleaning and others to start preparing their gardens for the summer crop.  Whatever the case, spring is a time of reconnecting with nature for many of us.  From the perspective of a sustainable living entrepreneur I’d like to speak to the eco-friendly value of home gardening.

With industrial agriculture being one of, if not the biggest contributors to greenhouse gases, I think it’s safe to say a green thumb can make a greener planet.  A green thumb can make a greener planet, but it’s no guarantee.  First, one simply has to make a choice to be natural with their gardening.  That means no chemical fertilizers.  Chemical fertilizers are not only unhealthy to ingest, but they also damage river life irreparably.  Whatever you put into your garden eventually makes its way into the water ways and aquifers of the surrounding environment.  A little effort can go a long way to solving this problem.  I’m new to composting, but I simply love it.  Composting, for one, creates all the nutrient rich fertilizer your garden needs.  At Greenovations we sell the Spin and the Tumbleweed Composter.  http://www.seacoastgreenovations.com/products/garden-supplies.aspx   I like the Spin Bin especially because no other affordable composter has as much ventilation to ensure your scraps break down.  Yes, there are other composters that perform just as well, but they cost a heck of a lot more.  I also like composting because it keeps fuel chugging trucks off the road a little more.  Just consider, if we all composted our food scraps and leaves how many fewer bags of garbage would be hauled to landfills; how many fewer hours trucks would be on the road dealing with our waste; how much longer a landfill would take to fill.  Every autumn I watch as neighbors have their leaves – and we have a lot in New England – gathered up and hauled down the road by a landscaping crew.  Those leaves should stay right where they are so that they can break down and fertilize the soil.  I mulch my leaves and what I can’t, I compost.  Even in the winter I have found composting to be an easy activity.  (If you’re interested in composting down the winter you’ll find lots of information on the internet about composting your kitchen scraps with a worm bin.  I have one in my basement, and except for trips to feed them and teach my son about nature, I otherwise don’t notice they’re there.)  Suffice it to say, composting is a great way to develop a productive garden and to preserve the environment at the same time.  Eating your own freshly picked, organic Snow Peas is just a treat.  Look ma, I made it myself!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

